Log In · Register

 
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
THE OFFICIAL PS3 TOPIC
DoubleJ
post May 31 2009, 09:34 AM
Post #1


The Resident Drunk
*******

Group: Head Staff
Posts: 8,623
Joined: Nov 2007
Member No: 593,266



This is the official topic for PS3 users only. The following things will be discussed in this topic:

PS3 HARDWARE
GAME PREVIEWS/REVIEWS
CHEATS AND WALKTHROUGHS
RANDOM QUESTIONS ABOUT A GAME YOU MAY BE HAVING TROUBLE WITH

DISCUSS!!
 
Mikeplyts
post May 31 2009, 11:07 AM
Post #2


Mel Blanc was allergic to carrots.
*******

Group: Official Designer
Posts: 6,371
Joined: Aug 2008
Member No: 676,291



Do you guys think that the SixAxis feature on the PS3 controller is good, or err, necessary? It seems like a lot of the games that I buy don't really require the use of the SixAxis feature. What do you guys think?
 
SuckDickNSaveLiv...
post May 31 2009, 11:38 AM
Post #3


Drank wit your boy
******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 1,711
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 649,997



Speaking of games, you guys should definitely rent or buy inFamous. This is how a super hero game should be done. Matter of fact, I have never really liked Super hero games that much. This however, is an exception. It has a great story, fun gameplay, and a good decision making feature that decides whether your character is good or bad.

Every since I got my PS3, the Wii gets no PT at all. Matter of fact, I should go on top of my roof let this thing drop to the bottom. _dry.gif @ me getting caught in that motion sensing crap.


QUOTE(Mikeplyts @ May 31 2009, 12:07 PM) *
Do you guys think that the SixAxis feature on the PS3 controller is good, or err, necessary? It seems like a lot of the games that I buy don't really require the use of the SixAxis feature. What do you guys think?

I'm not really a fan of the SixAxis feature, but so far I have three games that use it.

GTAIV - You can choose to steer a motorcycle with sixaxis or a joystick, your choice pretty much. There are some other times you can use it, but I just stick to the joystick.

inFamous - I can't spoil this for you, but you only use this for one of his powers. I guess I could see the use here.

Killzone 2 - You use this for turning valves. I honestly would have rather used the joystick here as well but oh well.
 
butre
post May 31 2009, 11:42 AM
Post #4


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



Anybody with the DualShock 3, is it worth the money?
 
illriginal
post May 31 2009, 12:53 PM
Post #5


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 6,349
Joined: Aug 2006
Member No: 455,274



PSN - illmortal cool.gif

I have the dual shock.. it's worth it. Plus I can use it on Ubuntu and Windows wink.gif


In SOCOM... sixaxis sucks.
 
sixfive
post May 31 2009, 01:07 PM
Post #6



*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 7,019
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 653,768



I've actually been thinking about getting a new console. I have a wii, and all I play on it is Super Smash Bros. Granted, that's my favorite console game of all time, so it was well worth it to me just to have a wii for that game. However, I want a better console for other games, and I think if Xbox 360 were newer and at less risk of being replaced in a couple years, I would defer to it. However, I think the PS3 is considerably more appealing to me at the moment, and I think I'll have one within a few weeks.
 
butre
post May 31 2009, 09:05 PM
Post #7


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



I've been thinking about buying a second PS3 to play around with the hardware. Is it in any way possible to upgrade the tiny 512 Mb RAM the PS3 has, or should I just completely ditch that idea?
 
LittleMissSunshi...
post May 31 2009, 11:52 PM
Post #8


rawr?
******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 2,704
Joined: Nov 2005
Member No: 285,858



i have the dualshock 3 and it's good (:! the only problem with the ps3 is when you send messages it sometimes freezes while your playing a game, so don't do that.
 
illriginal
post Jun 1 2009, 01:14 AM
Post #9


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 6,349
Joined: Aug 2006
Member No: 455,274



QUOTE(paozuu @ Jun 1 2009, 12:52 AM) *
i have the dualshock 3 and it's good (:! the only problem with the ps3 is when you send messages it sometimes freezes while your playing a game, so don't do that.

blink.gif
 
*reupONtrees*
post Jun 3 2009, 01:55 AM
Post #10





Guest






she meant lag, btw they are making a FFXIV Online
 
sixfive
post Jun 3 2009, 01:57 AM
Post #11



*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 7,019
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 653,768



oh shit
 
illriginal
post Jun 3 2009, 02:29 AM
Post #12


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 6,349
Joined: Aug 2006
Member No: 455,274



QUOTE(reupONtrees @ Jun 3 2009, 02:55 AM) *
she meant lag, btw they are making a FFXIV Online

mmorpg????????!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?

OMFG....






I'm buying a 60" HDTV when I buy this!~!!!!!!



brb fappin furiously!


When this game comes out... you'll never see me again.


more than likely (srs)
 
sixfive
post Jun 3 2009, 02:30 AM
Post #13



*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 7,019
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 653,768



yeah mang, i dont want to play ffxi because it's too much to catch up to again, but another new mmo sounds f*cking amazing
 
illriginal
post Jun 3 2009, 02:38 AM
Post #14


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 6,349
Joined: Aug 2006
Member No: 455,274



QUOTE(kryogenix @ Jun 3 2009, 03:30 AM) *
yeah mang, i dont want to play ffxi because it's too much to catch up to again, but another new mmo sounds f*cking amazing


Dood... lol I've put about 5 solid years into FFXI. It's not even funny. And seriously... I will be quick to drop that game and get on this. I'm gonna find out if there's any beta testing... I sure hope they let their consumers / fans help, it would be revolutionary!


Back in the day.. they never had their customers beta test their games. But now a days, it's becoming more popular and that's a good thing.


Holy shit.. I'm excited. I'm gonna start reading up!
 
sixfive
post Jun 3 2009, 02:41 AM
Post #15



*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 7,019
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 653,768



sell your ffxi account before prices drop imho
 
illriginal
post Jun 3 2009, 02:48 AM
Post #16


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 6,349
Joined: Aug 2006
Member No: 455,274



QUOTE(kryogenix @ Jun 3 2009, 03:41 AM) *
sell your ffxi account before prices drop imho


LOL... I will start doing my research tomorrow as far as selling. I have like... 13 million gil + another 16 million in equipment / items (but I could be off since I haven't checked the economy in the last... 6 months).
 
fameONE
post Jun 9 2009, 08:02 AM
Post #17


^_^
*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 8,141
Joined: Jan 2005
Member No: 91,466



I got my hands on a 40gb Japanese PS3. And as an early birthday present, I was sent a copy of Initial D Extreme Stage from Japan. BOSS.

Brandon is happy.
 
sixfive
post Jun 9 2009, 09:05 AM
Post #18



*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 7,019
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 653,768



I'll be getting a ps3 in a little over a week and picking up a copy of infamous. thinking about replacing the HD though
 
fameONE
post Jun 9 2009, 09:11 AM
Post #19


^_^
*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 8,141
Joined: Jan 2005
Member No: 91,466



QUOTE(kryogenix @ Jun 9 2009, 10:05 AM) *
I'll be getting a ps3 in a little over a week and picking up a copy of infamous. thinking about replacing the HD though

Word.

The only problem is that my TV isn't really a TV at all. Its this old LCD monitor/tv hybrid that I bought while in Japan. It doesn'thave any HD capabilities, so PS3 games look horrible on it.
 
sixfive
post Jun 9 2009, 09:36 AM
Post #20



*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 7,019
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 653,768



Yeah I bought a off my buddy last summer since he was upgrading his TV, so he sold me the one he had purchased on the previous Black Friday for 400, 32".
 
xtremegfx
post Jun 12 2009, 09:13 PM
Post #21


Newbie
*

Group: Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2009
Member No: 731,575



I just picked up Prototype, from what it seems it's a pretty cool game. The easy setting may be too easy. It seems as though you can't ever die.. I'm just tired of all these video games using Manhattan as the game's map..

It takes about 45 minutes to get into the actual free-roam part of the game, after that you can just go killing people which is fun.

One negative however.. I wish you could drive the cars.. I had this same negative with inFamous..
 
*reupONtrees*
post Jun 14 2009, 05:35 PM
Post #22





Guest






ay can someone pitch me some funny names, im playing fallout 3 and i cant think of one
 
sixfive
post Jun 14 2009, 05:41 PM
Post #23



*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 7,019
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 653,768



Mike Litores
 
*reupONtrees*
post Jun 14 2009, 05:45 PM
Post #24





Guest






haha, thats too cliché
 
SuckDickNSaveLiv...
post Jun 23 2009, 01:43 AM
Post #25


Drank wit your boy
******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 1,711
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 649,997



Man playing through MGS4 right now. Game is nice. I'm really impressed with the character modeling. Probably the best I've seen on a console this gen.
 

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: