Log In · Register

 
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Post your: overclocks, <
butre
post Jul 22 2009, 03:45 AM
Post #1


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



I'm sure there are at least a few other overclocking fanatics here. I'm pretty sure Tama overclocks, but there has to be someone else.



Make/model
CPU:Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
GPU:EVGA Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT 1Gb DDR3
RAM:Crucial Ballistix 4x1Gb
MOBO:EVGA nForce 780i SLI
PSU:Antec NeoPower 650W

Cooling
CPU:Stock
GPU:Stock
RAM:Stock heat spreaders+homemade heatsinks

Stock
CPU:2.4 GHz
GPU:600/1200
RAM:DDR2 800
FSB:1333

Current
CPU:3.2 GHz
GPU:700/1200
RAM:1080
FSB:1425

Desired
CPU:4.2 GHz Not going to happen until I get a new cooler
GPU:750/1600 Not going to happen because I still don't know too much about GPU overclocking
RAM:1290 Not going to happen without some crazy cooling. It breaks the record for DDR3, but not DDR2.
FSB:No goal here. Whatever I need to stay stable.

Ideas
My custom RAM heatsinks dropped my RAM temp about 5C, so that's always good.
I'm going to mount some crazy fans to my RAM, try to lower the temps even further.


If you haven't figured out by now, my computer is like a space heater. My system idles at 55 C. Throw some fans in this bitch. Maybe with blue LEDs, because that's so popular these days.
 
medic
post Jul 22 2009, 05:07 AM
Post #2


Seoul Rocks!
*****

Group: Member
Posts: 936
Joined: Jun 2005
Member No: 155,811



You should invest in some high speed water cooling.....
 
butre
post Jul 22 2009, 05:31 AM
Post #3


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



QUOTE(medic @ Jul 22 2009, 05:07 AM) *
You should invest in some high speed water cooling.....

I've thought about it plenty of times. What I really need to do is fix my cable management. It's a mess right now.
 
synapse
post Jul 22 2009, 08:42 AM
Post #4


Live long and prosper.
********

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 10,142
Joined: Apr 2007
Member No: 514,926



Would you recommend overclocking an athlon x2 dual core 5000 2.60Ghz? With a Antec 500W, and a ecs iris 8 motherboard
 
Maccabee
post Jul 22 2009, 09:51 AM
Post #5


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Designer
Posts: 5,880
Joined: Nov 2007
Member No: 593,382



^for sure. You can easily push it to 6gh without damaging it.
 
butre
post Jul 22 2009, 07:22 PM
Post #6


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



QUOTE(jcp @ Jul 22 2009, 09:51 AM) *
^for sure. You can easily push it to 6gh without damaging it.

No you can't.


Also, you will probably be able to push it to at least 3 GHz on stock cooling. I don't recommend overclocking to anyone, because it has a tendency to void warranties, but the Athlon X2 series OCs well.
 
sixfive
post Jul 22 2009, 07:31 PM
Post #7



*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 7,019
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 653,768



no dude you don't even know this jew has kyke level overclocking powers
 
butre
post Feb 6 2010, 02:01 PM
Post #8


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927





Now this feels good. I've been trying to break the record overclock for this card. Core and shader I broke without any problems at all, but I'm having issues getting the memory past 450.
 
butre
post Feb 7 2010, 04:35 PM
Post #9


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



Update on above, managed to get the memory running at 555.428 MHz by adding a few more fans. That's it, 15 MHz beyond the record overclock for the G98 8400 GS.
 
Maccabee
post Feb 8 2010, 12:17 AM
Post #10


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Designer
Posts: 5,880
Joined: Nov 2007
Member No: 593,382



Where do you submit when you have broken a record? Or is it more of a self achievement thing.
 
butre
post Feb 8 2010, 04:41 PM
Post #11


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



QUOTE(Maccabee @ Feb 7 2010, 11:17 PM) *
Where do you submit when you have broken a record? Or is it more of a self achievement thing.

For me, more of a self achievement.

here is the current record though:
http://hwbot.org/community/submission/9482...g98_10583_marks
 
ChocolateExplosi...
post Feb 9 2010, 01:41 PM
Post #12


Senior Member
***

Group: Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Dec 2009
Member No: 755,355



whistling.gif thought this thread say post your overcocks
 
butre
post Feb 9 2010, 04:53 PM
Post #13


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



QUOTE(ChocolateExplosion @ Feb 9 2010, 12:41 PM) *
whistling.gif thought this thread say post your overcocks

you can do that too
 
ChocolateExplosi...
post Feb 9 2010, 07:49 PM
Post #14


Senior Member
***

Group: Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Dec 2009
Member No: 755,355



but the image would just be too big. i am black, ya know
 
butre
post Feb 9 2010, 08:13 PM
Post #15


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



Can't be too much bigger than your average 640x480 monitor.
 
ChocolateExplosi...
post Feb 9 2010, 08:30 PM
Post #16


Senior Member
***

Group: Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Dec 2009
Member No: 755,355



you would think so whistling.gif but lemme tell ya....
 
Maccabee
post Feb 9 2010, 09:31 PM
Post #17


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Designer
Posts: 5,880
Joined: Nov 2007
Member No: 593,382



I'll post my cock if someone puts 10$ in my paypal.
 
AbbeyMarie
post Feb 9 2010, 09:36 PM
Post #18


Sex, Blood, & RocknRoll
*******

Group: People Staff
Posts: 5,304
Joined: Nov 2007
Member No: 596,480



I'd rather you not JCP
 
butre
post Feb 9 2010, 11:02 PM
Post #19


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



I can look at dicks for free. I'd rather keep my 10bux
 
Maccabee
post Feb 9 2010, 11:42 PM
Post #20


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Designer
Posts: 5,880
Joined: Nov 2007
Member No: 593,382



QUOTE(itanium @ Feb 9 2010, 10:02 PM) *
I can look at dicks for free. I'd rather keep my 10bux

CJ, I know you want to see my pen0r.
 
butre
post Feb 10 2010, 05:06 PM
Post #21


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



no, not really.
 
butre
post Apr 9 2010, 06:11 PM
Post #22


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



QUOTE(itanium @ Feb 7 2010, 04:35 PM) *
Update on above, managed to get the memory running at 555.428 MHz by adding a few more fans. That's it, 15 MHz beyond the record overclock for the G98 8400 GS.

I've now got this running at 777/681, completely dominating the previous record.
 
iRapediCarly
post Jun 18 2010, 11:39 PM
Post #23


Senior Member
*****

Group: Official Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Sep 2009
Member No: 745,302



did you upgrade any of your parts yet
 
butre
post Jun 19 2010, 01:59 AM
Post #24


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



QUOTE(aflyingcumshot @ Jun 18 2010, 11:39 PM) *
did you upgrade any of your parts yet

I specifically bought parts that overclock well so I wouldn't have to. My 9800 GT is nearing end of life though, I'm thinking a 5850 or 5830 will come next.

I usually upgrade every two or three generations anyway, so this works out great.
 
iRapediCarly
post Jun 19 2010, 02:25 AM
Post #25


Senior Member
*****

Group: Official Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Sep 2009
Member No: 745,302



yeah i was gonna say, 9800 is getting dated, and i got my 5770 for about 160

anyways ima cut the bullshit, im trying to buy a new monitor and do you know if theres a big difference between 2ms and 5ms response times
 

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: