Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Haven't left my house in 8 months..?
Forums > Community Center > Lifestyle > Health
goth-nina
I'm Agoraphobic, I've been diagnosed with Social Anxiety Disorder since I was 10.
For the first 4 months in high school, people thought I was a mute. Yeah, i know. I'm very quiet. I wouldn't yell even if I was on fire.

My mom was extremely a depressed person, so I think this was genetic.
During elementary school, it was very hard. That's when the bullying began, in the 3rd grade.
It hasn't stopped since I turned senior in high school. I graduated in June 2008, since July 1st, I haven't left my house.
I start college in Fall 2009, I'm considering taking it online. I just can't be around people. I can't even breathe in a
supermarket. My brother tried to take me Christmas shopping last December, & it was too much people, passing towards me, touching me, looking at me, I just started having slow panic attacks & ran into the car, & just bursted in tears.

I can't live like this. I can't even get across a room full of people. I always have to wait for hours for them to leave, so I can get my bottled water in the vending machine. My dad thinks it's stupidity, not extreme shyness.

So is there any advice anyone can give me? Should i go out, take it slow? Geez, I can't even do THAT, I always duck when a car passes by.
illriginal
Gaze at the direction you're going and ignore everything around you. In other words, focus on a target. Say you're walking to the vending machine, focus your eyes only on the vending machine as you approach it. Don't look around, otherwise you'll think people are talking about you or lookin at you.

Sucks you had to deal with bullies... I use to help kids who couldn't fend for themselves in Middle School and High School. =\
Melie
have you spoken to a doctor about this? you might want to look into seeing someone, like a therapist.
heyo-captain-jack
People in my school still think I'm a mute.