Log In · Register

 
3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
OFFICIAL PC GAMING TOPIC
butre
post Jun 5 2009, 07:59 PM
Post #1


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



We have every console, we need a thread about the best way to play games, da pee cee.

Use this thread to discuss the best (and maybe worst) games for da pee cee.

Ask of your computer can run Crysis! Ask if your computer can run Half Life 2! Ask if your computer can run GTA4!

Discuss gaming builds, find out what GPU to buy, find out if your new processor sucks, get told that you can't stick a Core 2 Duo in an AM2+ board!

Find out what we think of the latest and greatest games for da pee cee!
 
Tomates
post Jun 5 2009, 08:11 PM
Post #2


poison
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 4,805
Joined: Mar 2008
Member No: 629,020



Hey you...i need your help actually.
 
butre
post Jun 5 2009, 08:19 PM
Post #3


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



QUOTE(Tomates @ Jun 5 2009, 07:11 PM) *
Hey you...i need your help actually.

Elaborate.
 
Tomates
post Jun 5 2009, 08:23 PM
Post #4


poison
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 4,805
Joined: Mar 2008
Member No: 629,020



well...do you have a widescreen? and do you play sims 2?
 
butre
post Jun 5 2009, 08:24 PM
Post #5


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



I have a widescreen, but I haven't played Sims 2 in months.
 
Tomates
post Jun 5 2009, 08:30 PM
Post #6


poison
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 4,805
Joined: Mar 2008
Member No: 629,020



well...i need your help. I cant figure out how to get wide screen settings in the game.
Like my last monitor was 1027x756 and now mines 1680x1050 and for some reason sims 2 has no wide screen settings...or at least i cant find it.

so i was wondering if you knew how i can get the settings or just anyway to help me out.
 
butre
post Jun 5 2009, 08:43 PM
Post #7


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



It's an issue with nVidia cards.

Look for the Graphics Rules.sgr file in C:/Program Files/EA GAMES/The Sims 2/Seasons/TSData/Res/Config/Graphics Rules.sgr

Open "Graphics Rules.sgr" in notepad.

Look for "option ScreenModeResolution" and you will see settings for Low, Medium, and High. Set all the resolution settings to 1680 x 1050
 
Tomates
post Jun 5 2009, 08:45 PM
Post #8


poison
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 4,805
Joined: Mar 2008
Member No: 629,020



ohh cool. and i do have a nVidia card.
I knew i could count on you wink.gif

hm...for some reason i go do
My documents>EAgames>the sims2> and then nothing about TS data...

hmm. I knew my dad messed something up...
 
butre
post Jun 5 2009, 08:52 PM
Post #9


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



Seasons before tsdata

Copy paste file:///C:/Program Files/EA GAMES/The Sims 2/Seasons/TSData/Res/Config/ into your browser

If you get an error, then something is missing, or I typed the path wrong.
 
Tomates
post Jun 5 2009, 08:53 PM
Post #10


poison
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 4,805
Joined: Mar 2008
Member No: 629,020



nevermind. Found it, it just got moved to somewhere else

ermm...however im just now having issues finding the option ScreenModeResolution in the mass chaos

This post has been edited by Tomates: Jun 5 2009, 08:57 PM
 
Maccabee
post Jun 5 2009, 08:59 PM
Post #11


Senior Member
*******

Group: Official Designer
Posts: 5,880
Joined: Nov 2007
Member No: 593,382



Whats your current favorite pc game? I have actually never been a gamer.
 
Tomates
post Jun 5 2009, 09:01 PM
Post #12


poison
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 4,805
Joined: Mar 2008
Member No: 629,020



ok so i found this...

CODE

option ScreenModeResolution
setting $Low
uintProp maxResWidth 800
uintProp maxResHeight 600
uintProp defaultResWidth 800
uintProp defaultResHeight 600

setting $MediumButDefaultLow
uintProp maxResWidth 1280
uintProp maxResHeight 1024
uintProp defaultResWidth 800
uintProp defaultResHeight 600

setting $Medium
uintProp maxResWidth 1280
uintProp maxResHeight 1024
uintProp defaultResWidth 1024
uintProp defaultResHeight 768

setting $High
uintProp maxResWidth 1600
uintProp maxResHeight 1200
uintProp defaultResWidth 1024
uintProp defaultResHeight 768


If i want to change it to 1680x1050...what parts do i change?
Sorry...im just afraid im going to mess something up whistling.gif
 
butre
post Jun 5 2009, 09:21 PM
Post #13


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



Joseph, the answer would be Half Life 2, because of the extreme amount of customization allowed on the source engine. Games like Zombie Panic: Source, Garry's Mod, Portal, Team Fortress 2, Insurgency, Counter Strike: Source, etc. would have never been created if there was no Half Life 2.


CODE

option ScreenModeResolution
setting $Low
uintProp maxResWidth 1680
uintProp maxResHeight 1050
uintProp defaultResWidth 1680
uintProp defaultResHeight 1050

setting $MediumButDefaultLow
uintProp maxResWidth 1680
uintProp maxResHeight 1050
uintProp defaultResWidth 1680
uintProp defaultResHeight 1050

setting $Medium
uintProp maxResWidth 1680
uintProp maxResHeight 1050
uintProp defaultResWidth 1680
uintProp defaultResHeight 1050

setting $High
uintProp maxResWidth 1680
uintProp maxResHeight 1050
uintProp defaultResWidth 1680
uintProp defaultResHeight 1050


This should work.
 
Tomates
post Jun 5 2009, 09:28 PM
Post #14


poison
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 4,805
Joined: Mar 2008
Member No: 629,020



alright...i'll let you know if it works next time i get on
 
shanaynay
post Jun 5 2009, 10:00 PM
Post #15


Has a PhD in horribleness
*****

Group: Member
Posts: 866
Joined: Sep 2008
Member No: 686,301



well if you look in the top left corner of my desktop, thats all my games. Mostly Steam games +WoW, Shadowrun,and StarCraft
 
six
post Jun 5 2009, 10:26 PM
Post #16


;p
****

Group: Member
Posts: 280
Joined: May 2004
Member No: 17,685



i like race driver: grid


 
butre
post Jun 5 2009, 11:00 PM
Post #17


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



QUOTE(six @ Jun 5 2009, 09:26 PM) *
i like race driver: grid

I never got into that game, but I'm a bit of a graphics whore, and the game's v_models and npcs aren't so pretty.
 
six
post Jun 5 2009, 11:09 PM
Post #18


;p
****

Group: Member
Posts: 280
Joined: May 2004
Member No: 17,685



what's a better racer out there that you'd recommend?
 
shanaynay
post Jun 5 2009, 11:10 PM
Post #19


Has a PhD in horribleness
*****

Group: Member
Posts: 866
Joined: Sep 2008
Member No: 686,301



well if they're on the PC, Gran Turismo, or Project Gotham Racing ^^^
 
butre
post Jun 5 2009, 11:15 PM
Post #20


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



QUOTE(shanaynay @ Jun 5 2009, 10:10 PM) *
well if they're on the PC, Gran Turismo, or Project Gotham Racing ^^^

This.

Also, Trackmania has some badass physics.
 
*reupONtrees*
post Jun 5 2009, 11:31 PM
Post #21





Guest






diddy kong racing
 
sixfive
post Jun 6 2009, 12:21 AM
Post #22



*******

Group: Staff Alumni
Posts: 7,019
Joined: May 2008
Member No: 653,768



pgr is pretty damn good
 
Deospeon
post Jun 6 2009, 03:50 AM
Post #23


llorT rioneS
*****

Group: Human
Posts: 641
Joined: Mar 2009
Member No: 717,869



Moto GP? lol


lulz at my framerate.
This was with my Geforce 6600

 
Tomates
post Jun 6 2009, 11:16 AM
Post #24


poison
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 4,805
Joined: Mar 2008
Member No: 629,020



alright...i saw the 1680x1050 setting on my game
and i clicked it and saved the changes
but it went back to the one i had previously.
 
butre
post Jun 6 2009, 02:40 PM
Post #25


/人◕‿‿◕人\
*******

Group: Official Member
Posts: 8,283
Joined: Dec 2007
Member No: 602,927



It is a mystery.
 

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: