Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Font rights
Forums > Resource Center > Graphics Help > Graphics Help Resolved Topics
trip13
Hey, I'm a graphic designer and just helping my sister out (fine artist) by putting together a website/logo and everything for her. She's really wanting to use Chris Hansen's 'Requiem', the font is listed as 'free for personal use', as she is using the brand to earn cash I presume that it is not allowed? I've looked all over for contact info to ask him but everything is out of date and I can't find anything current.

Help? =/

Thanks
none345678
I think that only matters if you are actually selling the logo or font itself, but I could be mistaken.
heyo-captain-jack
He's only got that copyrighted.
QUOTE(wikipedia)
The Congress shall have Power [. . .] To promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries.

So copyright holds no legal value over visual arts, but only over inventions, discoveries, documentation, and literature.

But of course, I could be reading that too conservatively. Don't take it as 100% fact.
trip13
Thanks for the info guys, guess I will just use it - not too hard to remake anyways, Trajan Pro + some grunge haha

And IWontRapeYou, best name + avatar combo ever hahaha
none345678
QUOTE(trip13 @ Dec 11 2009, 10:41 PM) *
And IWontRapeYou, best name + avatar combo ever hahaha

I try. throb.gif
mipadi
QUOTE(itanium @ Dec 11 2009, 11:05 PM) *
So copyright holds no legal value over visual arts, but only over inventions, discoveries, documentation, and literature.

Not inventions -- that's under the purview of patent law.
brooklyneast05