Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I need to learn web design
Forums > Resource Center > Designers' Café
rickysaurus
I know next to nothing about wed design and coding, and it's high time I start because nowadays you can't get anywhere without being able to do web design. I followed a tutorial to make the website on photoshop which was all fine and dandy but when it came to coding it was a complete fail.

So that being said, I just wanted to know how you guys got started in learning how to code and such because I know there are a lot of coders out there on this forum, hopefully I can gain a few good insights from your stories, and maybe a few absolute beginner links would be helpful too. Thanks.
emberfly
I'm still a newby coder.

I started doing Xanga coding when I was 10, so I learned a lot of CSS and HTML from there.

I am still learning new codes from W3 schools

http://www.w3schools.com/

This site is so wonderful.

I don't really know anything other than Xanga coding and CSS thumbsup.gif
Mikeplyts
Yes, W3 Schools should help you a lot with coding. I also sometimes use the Tuts+ network for help on web/graphic design as well as with other syntaxes. happy.gif
Firiath
Try getting an existing layout and pull it apart to find out how to build it. Then you can learn how to customize the coding yourself :]
theerinkal
I started with neopets.com when they didn't have as many restrictions on the coding. Then I went to myspace layouts and then website templates.

I also went to lisaexplains.com. That helped and so did w3schools.com
HeartOfPandora
I've learned absolutely everything by reverse engineering, and Googling for code snippits as needed. I usually don't recommend books or tutorials because most people just take them at face value and never do any experimentation (or don't do it properly).

I'd say RE is the way to go!
rickysaurus