Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What Scripting language to start with
Forums > Resource Center > Webmasters' Corner > Webmasters' Corner Resolved Topics
danielkraus
Where should I begin with scripting? I am new to html, css and coding in general and would like to know the best way to start. I am teaching myself through the use of templates and reverse engineering code to see how it works. Should I take a class on scripting, how it works, sytax etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Insurmountable
Well what are you going to start coding for? I would say the easiest to learn is CSS, although with CSS you'll have a few html things that are in it as well.

Just learn both of them, the best place I would suggest starting is here:

HTML - http://www.w3schools.com/html/html_intro.asp
CSS - http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_intro.asp
XHTML - You'll want to look into this, xhtml makes more sense and its being used more than regular ole' html, but of course there isn't any real big changes.
>>> http://www.w3schools.com/xhtml/xhtml_intro.asp
danielkraus
I'm ok on the html css, but it is the javascripting, php, xml that I wish to learn. I'm just not sure where to start. I have found a couple of tutorials online, but they lack a detailed progression of how the syntax works, each element, property etc. and what they can do and how to make them do it. I think I may need to get a text book and go from there. Thanx!
SharperMyspace
I started with javascript, and then went into PHP. Javascript and PHP are similar. It really depends on what you want to use it for. If you are just starting out, javascript would probably be good for you.
fixtatik
with PHP and javascript, there's an endless number of things you can do. both come with a few hundred built-in functions, and you can create your own functions.

for PHP:
- w3 schools
- tizag
- php.net (for when you're more familiar with the language)

for javascript
- w3 schools
- tizag