Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Comic Books Are Literature Too.
Forums > Community Center > Academia > Books
NoSex
So, who here is a comic book or graphic novel reader?

I'm just finishing up Preacher, which is fantastic.
I'm halfway into The Watchmen, Black Hole, Tomie, and a few others.
xquizit
*raises hand*

i'm new to graphic novels but i'm already addicted.

i've read both 'box office poison' and 'tricked' by alex robinson. just finished 'ghost world' by dan clowes last night. i have a bunch in line to read when i get the chance... including 'american splendor', 'palomar', 'black hole', 'blankets', 'the watchmen' among others...

told you i was addicted.
stephinika
I haven't read all that many, but I want to read more. I'm a fan of Neil Gaiman's Sandman series though. I have his book, Endless Nights thats related to that series.
superstitious
Too many to list. People who know me here, know I love my comics.

Wonder Woman, obviously. I'm thrilled Gail Simone has taken over the books for now (for the most part). I'm a DC person, although I love other publishers as well. Dark Horse offers up good fare, as does Vertigo, although Vertigo is somewhat the naughty extension of DC.

Right now I'm rereading JLA trades:
Tower of Babel and Obsidian Age 1 and 2 (both JLA comics)

Preacher is outstanding. I'm so glad to be seeing you read that, Nate. How are you liking the Buffy series? Oh and have you read any Fray? Outstanding series about the future Buffy (like, post apocalyptic Buffy, but without a real apocalypse, so to speak).

I'm actually hitting my shop on Sunday, since my tax returns (state that is) has been deposited.

I recommend Hellboy and BPRD strongly if you (anyone) hasn't a chance to read any. Pick up a trade or two to catch up. Oh and check out iFanboy.com podcast. Their weekly reviews are typically spot on.
CapCaDancer
Where's the line?
What determines whether something is a 'comic book' versus a 'graphic novel'?
NoSex